My winter in New Calédonia

Publié le par Guillaume Néry

_MG_2662.jpg
Welcome back to my blog ! Sorry for the lack of updates the last 2 months, but I am now back for a report of my winter activity.
Right after the World Championships in Bahamas and a wonderful week (between the 12th and the 18th of December) in La Plagne ski station for the annual sport event «  Les Etoiles du Sport », gathering all the French sports stars of the year, I have traveled to a very exotic place : New Calédonia. The tropical French island is floating in the middle of the South Pacific, very near to Australia and New Zeland.
I spent almost 3 months there with Julie. Julie has worked on an aquaculture project and I have been invited to share my passion and experience of freediving with the New Caledonian people and to start my preparation for the next team World Championship in Okinawa in July 2010.
One part of the trip took place in Nouméa, the main city of the Island. Eric Clua and Bernard Andréani, director of the APNEA freediving club of Nouméa introduced me to the 200 members. I organised some training sessions in the wonderful outdoor 50m swimming pool and some courses in the beautiful water of the biggest lagoon in the world. I managed to train too with the CNC, Caledonian swimming club almost every day. I also took part in 2 freediving competitions organised by the APNEA club and improved my personal best in dynamic with a 167m dive.
I have been invited too to become the ambassador of a new freediving club based in Koutio, around Nouméa.
The other part of the trip was organised by Alphonse Pujapujane. It took part in the Loyalties Islands and was 100% dedicated to the ocean. I was travelling and teaching in the 3 islands of the Loyalties : Mare, Lifou and Ouvéa. The habitants of the island are mostly Melanesian people with a completely different social organisation than ours : the tribal organisation. The Loyalties Islands are one the most beautiful places I have ever been so far. But on top of it, the experience with the local people was unique. Kanak people are very close to nature and the ocean in their way of life and together we had an amazing time.
Better than words, here are some pictures of the warmest winter I have ever experienced.

_MG_0547.JPGMG 0497
Spearfishing in Lifou                                                   Alphonse Pupujane and the Lifou team
MG 0457_MG_0963.jpg
After spearfishing in Lifou                                            Teaching dynamic at the pool
_MG_1938.jpg_MG_2374.jpg
Wreck in Caledonian lagoon                Conference in Nouméa
_MG_2448.jpg_MG_2449.jpg
    Course in Mare                                                           Amazing Mare
_MG_2483.jpg_MG_2584.jpg
Blue Hole in Mare                                Spearfishing in Mare
_MG_2774.jpgApneeNoumea2.jpg
Ouvéa...                                                               Some members of club APNEA in Nouméa
ApneeNoumea1.jpg
Julie and me after our performance

Publié dans VOYAGES

Pour être informé des derniers articles, inscrivez vous :
Commenter cet article
C
<br /> Merçi pour ta disponibilité, ta simplicité, ta manière de communiquer ta passion, j'ai pu apprécier toutes ces qualités au cours du stage que tu as animé à Aqua 92, la fosse de villeneuve la<br /> garenne, j'ai passé un excellent week-end en ta compagnie, le dépaysement était total. Reviens vite et encore merci.<br /> <br /> <br />
Répondre
T
<br /> Blog is so Well, Thank you very much for your information, Well job I want you to continue your work.<br /> <br /> <br />
Répondre
A
<br /> superbes photos. Merci de nous faire partager tes voyages!<br /> <br /> <br />
Répondre
K
<br /> Wow Guilliaume! what a place to do your winter training!! - I think I would have stayed there!<br /> <br /> Congratulations on your 167m Dynamic dive!<br /> I'm looking forward to your dives and reporting from Deans Blue hole at the Suuto Dive-off.<br /> <br /> Love, Courage and Water,<br /> <br /> Kars<br /> (Pays bas)<br /> <br /> <br />
Répondre